Enugu Daily News
Enugu's Authoritative news source


NNPC Science Quiz Competition: Enugu beats 17 states

***Beat 17 others with 75 points, while Ogun and Edo states came 2nd and 3rd with 70 and 65 points

0 722

Enugu state has won the 2018 Nigerian National Petroleum Corporation (NNPC) National Science Quiz Competition.

Okeke Tony Kabilan, a student of Spring of Life International School, Enugu was this year’s winner of the annual competition.

Dome Media Services


A student of Ambassadors College, Otta, Ogun State Igban Emmanuel, came second, while Alikah Joseph Ehiagwina, a student of Bosco Science Academy, Ukhun, Edo State took third.

Enugu state led 17 others with 75 points, while Ogun and Edo states came second and third with 70 and 65 points, respectively.


Group Managing Director of NNPC, Mikanti Baru, while speaking at the event on Tuesday which took place at the Amphitheatre, NNPC Towers, Abuja, said past winners of the competition who are gainfully employed are excelling in their various endeavours.

“I have directed the Corporation’s Group Public Affairs Division to assess the extent to which the objectives of the flagship CSR projects are being met to improve on its impact on the target audience”, he said.



ALSO READ: World Sight Day: Experts Want Eye Clinics in Rural Areas

“I feel humbled to report that all the past winners of the quiz contest that are professionally engaged are doing very well. A few examples will suffice. Sunday Aliu, one of the contest’s pioneer winners who work in Total Nigeria EP was part of the team that built Egina Floating Production Storage and Offloading (FPSO) unit which has some relevance to Nigeria’s crude oil production.”


Also present at the event was former Head of State General Yakubu Gowon, former military Head of State, General Abdulsalami Abubakar, Governor Atiku Bagudu of Kebbi State and Governor Godwin Obaseki of Edo State. Ibe Kachikwu, Minister of State for Petroleum also delivered an address.

Abia, Bauchi, Benue, Delta, Edo, Enugu, FCT Abuja, Gombe, Imo, Kaduna, Kebbi, Lagos, Ogun, Osun, Plateau, Rivers, Sokoto and Taraba states competed at the finals.

Three states were picked from each geopolitical zone.

You might also like

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

Social media & sharing icons powered by UltimatelySocial